Finally: An official Google Calendar Outlook Sync tool

March 7, 2008 at 14:31 3 comments

First of all: I hate Outlook.

But… Previous(successful) attempts to sync both my employer’s Netscape Calendar, my Google Calendar and my HTC PDA are as follows (no, don’t laugh):

  1. I sync my employer’s calendar server with an old Qtek 2020 PDA
    (The Netscape Calendar server at work can only sync to old Pocket PC 2003 devices… )
  2. I then run a tool on the good old Qtek called GooSync to sync my employer’s calendar with Google
    (GooSync is nifty tool, but the freeware version is limited to about 3 weeksof sync window…)
  3. I then run the same GooSync tool  on my new HTC phone and I end up with 3 nicely synched calendars: Netscape at work, my 2 PDA’s and Google Calendar
    (FYI: In GooSync I’m using another userid/password but pointing to the same Google Calendar)

As you can see, not really flexible… Which makes me start to *tolerate*Outlook :o)…

This morning, I stumbled across Google Calendar Sync, which allows you to sync events between Google Calendar and Microsoft Outlook Calendar. Hmmm… Interesting.

So, I decided to give it a try and yes… 5 minutes later my Google and Outlook (yuk) calendar are up-to-date.

But… where does it leave me with my calendar sync on my HTC ?

It’s only a partial success: I got rid of the GooSync tool on my HTC device and can now sync nicely using ActiveSync without the limitation of Goosync. But… I still need to manually (Goo)Sync my Qtek 2020 with Google in order to get my employer’s meeting bookings.

If anyone out there has a solution, let me know :o)

Entry filed under: Google, Handy Tool.

Firefox 3 promises to be a speed-monster Het Diabolo Project

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Frad  |  May 6, 2008 at 00:22

    Hi there,

    I’ve been looking for a way to sync my windows mobile PDA (WM5/6) with my Netscape Calendar server at work. May I ask what program you use on your Qtek 2020? Is it limited to Pocket PC 2003 devices?

    I’d like to be able to use it on my HTC Touch (WM6). Thanks.

    Answer: I’m using CorporateSync for Pocket PC version 1.1.3 from Steltor Inc (used to be CS&T, now Oracle). The tool is rather old and only works on PocketPC 2002; *not* on WM6…

    Reply
  • 2. Dimi  |  June 13, 2008 at 13:54

    http://oggsync.com/ works perfect

    Reply
  • 3. Ariel Di Stefano  |  July 8, 2008 at 18:37

    We just launched KiGoo, a free tool that allows Google users to fully manage (create, read, update and delete) their Calendar and Contacts from MS Outlook.
    Also KiGoo manage the Free Busy information of your Gmail contacts for appointments if they shared their FB status.

    Currently we support Windows XP and office 2007.

    http://www.getkigoo.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

RSS MozillaZine

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Blog Stats

  • 141,881 hits

Feeds


